Cesar Franck – Piano Quintet in f minor, Marcel Ciampi and Capet Quartet

Written 1878-79.

The Capet String Quartet was a French musical ensemble founded in 1893,
which remained in existence until 1928 or later. It made a number of recordings
and was considered one of the leading string quartets of its time.
The personnel of the Capet Quartet (other than the leader, Lucien Capet)
changed fairly often, and are reported differently in variant sources.
The original line-up appears to have included a player named Giron,
and during the first decade Henri Casadesus and Marcel Casadesus,
uncles of the celebrated pianist Robert Casadesus, played viola
and cello within the group, which often rehearsed at the Casadesus household.

In 1903, it had become:

1st violin: Lucien Capet
2nd violin: André Touret
viola: Louis Bailly
violoncello: Louis Hasselmans

By 1910 the team was established which survived into the 1920s to make the well-known recordings:

1st violin: Lucien Capet
2nd violin: Maurice Hewitt
viola: Henri Benoît
violoncello: Camille Delobelle


Movt I – Molto moderato quasi lento (Part 1 & 2)


Movt II – Lento, con molto sentimento, Movt III – Allegro non troppo, ma con fuoco


This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>